background image





Further Progression

Course Overview

The International Advanced Level Psychology qualification consists of two IAS units (Units 1 and 2) plus two IA2 units (Units 3 and 4). The AS Level qualification may be awarded as a discrete qualification or may contribute 50 per cent towards the International A Level qualification.

Students will study Social and Cognitive Psychology; Biological psychology, learning theories and development; Applications; and Clinical psychology and psychological skills.

Students will learn to:

  • Develop essential knowledge and understanding of different areas of psychology and how they relate to each other
  • Develop and demonstrate a deep appreciation of the skills in using scientific methods, knowledge and understanding of scientific methods
  • Develop competence and confidence in using a variety of practical, mathematical and problem-solving skills
  • Develop their interest in and enthusiasm for psychology, including developing an interest in further international study and careers associated with psychology
  • Appreciate how society makes decisions about scientific issues and how psychology contributes to the success of the economy and society
A Level Psychology Overview

Exam Overview

The Pearson Edexcel International Advanced Level in Psychology qualification consists of four externally examined units. The International Advanced Level consists of the two IAS units (Unit 1 and 2) and two IA2 units (Unit 3 and 4).


AS Level: 2 units total One unit of 1 hour 30 minutes and one unit of 2 hours A Level: 4 units total Two units of 1 hour 30 minutes each and two units of 2 hours each


AS Level: 2 units total One unit of 64 marks One unit of 96 marks A Level: 4 units total Two units of 64 marks each Two unit of 96 marks each


External assessment offered two times a year for each of the four units.

Progression and Prerequisites