background image





Further Progression

Course Overview

The International A Level History qualifications’ approach focuses on depth, breadth and interpretation of event in history.

In the focus on depth, students will look at the history of one country in detail over a short period of time; in the breadth approach, students will study the history of one country through four key topic areas over an extended time scale and for the interpretations of event in history, students will look at development of international relations over a broad historical period.

Students will learn to:

  • Develop their interest in and enthusiasm for history and an understanding of its intrinsic value and significance
  • Acquire an understanding of different identities within society and an appreciation of aspects such as social, cultural, religious and ethnic diversity, as appropriate
  • Build on their understanding of the past through experiencing a broad and balanced course of study
  • Improve as effective and independent learners, and as critical and reflective thinkers with curious and enquiring minds
  • Develop the ability to ask relevant and significant questions about the past and to research them
  • Acquire an understanding of the nature of historical study, for example that history is concerned with judgements based on available evidence and that historical judgements are provisional
  • Develop their use and understanding of historical terms, concepts and skills
  • Make links and draw comparisons within and/or across different periods and aspects of the past
  • Organise and communicate their historical knowledge and understanding in different ways, arguing a case and reaching substantiated judgements.
A Level History Overview

Exam Overview

The Pearson Edexcel International Advanced Level in History qualification consists of four externally examined units. The International Advanced Level consists of the two IAS units (Unit 1 and 2) and two IA2 units (Unit 3 and 4).

The exams are essay-based.


AS Level: 2 units of two hours each A Level: 2 units of two hours each


AS Level: 2 units of 50 marks each A Level: 2 units of 50 marks each


Eexternal assessment offered three times a year for each of the six units.

Progression and Prerequisites