background image

A Level English Literature




Further Progression

Course Overview

The International A Level English Literature course is spread out over two years with the possibility for an Advanced Subsidiary (AS) Level or Advanced (A) Level qualification.

Students will study two drama texts; a selection of post-2000 poems as well as a one post-2000 novel; one pre-1900 literary poetry movement; a Shakespearean play; and post-1900 poetry and one prose.

Students will learn to:

  • Read widely and independently set texts and others that they have selected for themselves
  • Engage critically and creatively with a substantial body of texts and ways of responding to them
  • Develop and effectively apply their knowledge of literary analysis and evaluation
  • Explore the contexts of the texts they are reading and others’ interpretations of them
  • Undertake independent and sustained studies to deepen their appreciation and understanding of English literature, including its changing traditions.

Learn how English Literature courses compare to Language courses.

Mathematics Overview

Exam Overview

The Pearson Edexcel International Advanced Level in English Literature qualification consists of four externally-examined units. The AS Level consists of the two units (Units 1 and 2) and the A Level consists of two IA2 units (Units 3 and 4). The AS qualification may be awarded as a discrete qualification or may contribute 50 per cent towards the International A Level qualification.


AS Level: Two units of 2 hours each A Level: Four units of 2 hours each


Open-book external assessment offered two times a year for each of the four units.


AS Level | 2 units of 50 marks each A Level | 4 units of 50 marks each

Progression and Prerequisites

Made with❤️by Crimson experts.