background image





Further Progression

Course Overview

The International Advanced Level Economics qualification consists of two IAS units (Units 1 and 2) plus two IA2 units (Units 3 and 4). The AS Level qualification may be awarded as a discrete qualification or may contribute 50 per cent towards the International A Level qualification.

Students will study Markets in Action; Macroeconomic Performance and Policy; Business Behaviour; and Developments in the Global Economy.

Students will learn to:

  • Develop an interest in, and enthusiasm for, the subject
  • Appreciate the contribution of economics to the understanding of the wider economic and social environment
  • Develop an understanding of a range of concepts and an ability to use those concepts in a variety of different contexts
  • Use an enquiring, critical and thoughtful approach to the study of economics and develop an ability to think as an economist
  • Understand that economic behaviour can be studied from a range of perspectives
  • Develop analytical and quantitative skills, together with qualities and attitudes that will equip them for the challenges, opportunities and responsibilities of adult and working life.
A Level Economics Overview

Exam Overview

The Pearson Edexcel International Advanced Level in Economics qualification consists of four externally examined units. The International Advanced Level consists of the two IAS units (Unit 1 and 2) and two IA2 units (Unit 3 and 4).


AS Level: 2 units total 2 units of 1 hour 45 minutes each A Level: 4 units total 2 units of 1 hour 45 minutes each 2 units of two hours each


AS Level: 2 units of 80 marks each A Level: 4 units of 80 marks each


External assessment offered three times a year for each of the four units.

Progression and Prerequisites